Academy of Physicians
in Clinical Research

Academy of Physicians
in Clinical Research

APCR Board of Trustees

The Academy of Physicians in Clinical Research Board of Trustees has the responsibility to support the organization’s mission and vision, serve as strategic decision-makers, and holds the legal authority of its organization. The Board governs the objectives and purposes of APCR which include (i) enhancing further the organization’s value proposition to its members through advocacy, competency and exchange, (ii) representing physicians directly or indirectly involved in clinical research endeavors, (iii) enhancing the proficiency of physicians directly or indirectly involved in clinical research endeavors, (iv) promoting the acquisition and dissemination of knowledge concerning therapeutic action, investigation, and development of pharmaceuticals, biologics, medical devices, and diagnostics, and (v) protecting the welfare of patients and study subjects. Trustees are elected from the APCR membership and the ACRP Nominating Committee is charged, by the APCR Board, with leading the recruitment process for qualified candidates.

2018-2019 APCR Board of Trustees


Cara East, MD, FAPCR

Dr. East has been involved in clinical trial research since 1987, working as a principal investigator for over 70 trials.  She has also participated as a subinvestigator in more than 20 trials.  Such studies have included the use of stem cells in cardiomyopathy and as an adjunct to heart surgery, studies of renal artery nerve ablation as an alternative treatment for hypertension, the use of mipomersen and the PCSK9 inhibitors in familial hypercholesterolemia, the development of novel oral anticoagulants for the prevention of thromboembolic events in atrial fibrillation, the need for repeat ablation following cryoablation for atrial fibrillation, and the gender of authors in a local journal.  She has over 48 articles published in peer-reviewed journals and serves as a reviewer for several journals.  She is currently a clinical professor at Texas A&M College of Medicine and a cardiology staff attending for Baylor University Medical Center Internal Medicine teaching program.  She served on a general medicine IRB and as the cardiologist on an oncology IRB.  She currently is a National Leader of the Paradise trial and is the chairman of the Data Safety Monitoring Committee for the NIH trial “Exercise and intensive vascular risk reduction in preventing dementia.”


Lyndon Mansfield, MD, FAPCR, CPI

Dr. Mansfield is a Certified Principal Investigator and is also Board Certified in Allergy/Immunology, Diagnostic Clinical Laboratory Immunology and Pediatrics. He has been involved in clinical research for over 30 years. Most of this research was on Asthma, COPD, Rhinitis, Urticaria, Atopic Dermatitis and Food Allergy. He has participated in over 312 clinical research protocols, has authored or co-authored over 100 medical manuscripts and over 115 scientific research presentations.


Michael Koren, MD, FACC, FAPCR, CPI

Dr. Koren directs activities at Jacksonville Center for Clinical Research (JCCR), a multispecialty research organization with eight locations that has conducted more than 1,500 trials involving over 100 investigators. He also is a practicing cardiologist with the Apex Cardiovascular Group. Dr. Koren is an honors graduate of Brandeis University and Harvard Medical School. During his medical school training, he completed additional course work at the Harvard School for Public Health and wrote an M.D. thesis involving computer decision analysis. More recently he was awarded a US patent for developing the software system Ask100Doctors. Dr. Koren received his postdoctoral training at New York Hospital/ Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center/ Cornell University Medical Center in internal medicine and cardiology. During his postdoctoral training, Dr. Koren served as a third-year chief resident, held a faculty position and published several papers and abstracts. In recent years, he has served as the international lead principal investigator for several large multiple centered trials including ALLIANCE (a pivotal statin study), ROLE (ranolazine safety study), MENDEL (evolocumab) and OSLER (evolocumab). His scientific work, numbering over 100 abstracts and manuscripts, has been published in leading medical journals such as the Journal of the American College of Cardiology, New England Journal of Medicine, Postgraduate Medicine, and The Lancet. Dr. Koren has become interested in “the research of research.”  He has presented abstracts on this subject at national meetings and served as a Past President and Board Member for the Academy of Physicians in Clinical Research (APCR) and twice as co-chair of the Ponte Vedra Cardiovascular Symposium.  He serves on the Leadership Council of the Society of Clinical Research Sites (SCRS) and is President-elect of the First Coast Metro Board of the American Heart Association.


Harry Sarles, MD, FAPCR

Harry E. Sarles, Jr., MD, FACG, is a graduate of the University of Texas, Medical Branch, at Galveston. He has trained in Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology at the University of Texas, Medical Branch, at Galveston, and the Veterans Administration (VA) Hospital, Phoenix, Arizona through the University of Arizona. Dr. Sarles obtained Board Certification from the American Board of Internal Medicine in January 1983 and Board Certification from the American Board of Internal Medicine, Subspecialty of Gastroenterology in January 1985. He has been practicing medicine for the past 27 years at Digestive Health Associates of Texas, PA (DHAT), where he delivers care to his patients. He is Vice President of his group and conducts clinical research as the Principal Investigator, and Medical Director of the DHAT Research Institute since March 2016. He was appointed to the Board of American College of Gastroenterology Institute for Research and Education in 2015. He currently gives oversight and serves as principal investigator for clinical research trials in the broader fields of Gastroenterology and Hepatology. Dr. Sarles is affiliated with the American Gastroenterology Association (AGA), the American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (ASGE), the Texas Society of Gastroenterology (TSGE), and a Fellow of the American College of Gastroenterology (FACG). Dr. Sarles is well spoken, published, and dedicated. He is the 2005 recipient of the Texas Society for Gastroenterology and Endoscopy Marcel Patterson /Robert Nelson Career Service Award, and the recipient of the American College of Gastroenterology William D. Carey, MD Board of Governors College Leadership Award. He is a past president of the American College of gastroenterology and Texas Society for gastroenterology and Endoscopy.


Ricardo Correa Marquez, MD, Es.D, FAPCR

Dr. Correa received his Medical Doctor degree from the University of Panama and his Masters on Education from the University of Panama. He did his Internal Medicine residency at University of Miami-Jackson Memorial Hospital and Endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism fellowship at the National Institute of Health.



Term:  2017-2019

William Berger, MD, MBA, FAPCR

Robert Hardi, MD, FAPCR, CPI

Term:  2018-2020

Peter Rheinstein, MD, JD, MS, FAPCR

Michael Ybarra, MD, FAPCR




Publication Date: 
Thursday, February 11, 2016 - 1:15pm
Thursday, February 11, 2016 - 1:15pm